Thursday, February 22, 2018

AI Nepal Activities


The 25th Annual General Meeting (National Council Meeting) of Amnesty International (AI) Nepal held on 10 and 11 September 2016 in Pokhara. The highest policy making body meets every year and this year's meeting was the continuation of the internal democratic exercise. The AGM was divided into three different sessions, vig Inaugural Session, Business Session and Election of National Committees.

 Inaugural Session

The inaugural session of the 25th Annual General Meeting held on 9 September 2016 (24 Bhadra 2073) at Hotel Barahi, Pokhara. First ever President of Federal Republic Nepal Dr. Ram Baran Yadav inaugurated the meeting amidst a grand program by lightening a candle.

Making an inaugural address, various persons from different walk of lives congratulated AI for contributing to defending human rights in Nepal. They suggested AI to continue its work and give voice to voiceless. They also expressed concerns over worsening human rights situation in Nepal. 

Speakers addressing the inaugural sessions were Anup Raj Sharma, the Chairperson of National Human Rights Commission; Daman Nath Dhungana, former Speaker of the Parliament and front line civil society activist; Prof. Dr. Birendra Mishra, the frontline civil society activist; Prof. Purushottam Dahal, Senior Journalist and frontline human rights defender; Gita Chhetri Rana,  the member of parliament (and member of parliamentary committee on Social Justice and Human Rights); and Nabin Baral and Basanta Prasad Subedi, the convenors of Pokhara based AI Groups 54 and 82 respectively. The Inaugural Session was chaired by AI Nepal's Chairperson Surya Bahadur Adhikari.

AI Nepal's Director Rameshwar Nepal made a detail presentation regarding AI's priority campaign as well as AI's concerns over ongoing human rights situation. 

First President Dr. Yadav felicitated AI Nepal's outgoing Director Rameshwar Nepal for his contribution in protection of human rights as well as institutional development of Amnesty International in Nepal. Mr. Nepal, who begun his carrier in AI Nepal in 1998 as Human Rights Education Officer and served remaining in different position including Press Officer, Deputy Director and lastly as Director since late 2005 has decided to leave the position from November 2016.

 Business Sessions

The closed business session went heavy with the discussion on annual report presented by Acting General Secretary Karun Khanal, Financial and Auditors Report presented by Treasurer Hira Sharma Nepal and Activities Report presented by Director Rameshwar Nepal. The AGM also gave authority to the National Board to appoint the auditors to conduct the audit of fiscal year 2073/74.

The AGM passed 5 different resolutions about different human rights themes. Those resolutions includes, a call to end an impunity, ensure protection rights of the Nepali migrant workers, ratify Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court and demanding criminalization of torture in Nepal.

Altogether 177 people including delegates of 66 AI Nepal's Groups, 6 Groups-in-formations, National Board, Appeals Committee, National Secretariat, Volunteers and National Board Appointed Observers in the AGM.



The AGM also elected a 11-member National Board and a 3-member Appeal Committee for a 2 year term. The following is the list of the committees elected by the AGM.

(A) National Executive Committee 




Represented From


Mr. Rajan Prasad Kuikel


AI Nepal, Group – 39, Nuwakot


Mr. Bikram Dhukuchhu


AI Nepal, Group 17, Bhaktapur


Ms. Yashoda Upadhyaya

(who has later appointed Deputy General Secretary in the National Board)

Woman Member

AI Nepal, Group 68, Nepalgunj


Ms. Parvata Acharya

Woman Member

AI Nepal, Group 36,Pyuthan


Ms. Sangita Chapagai

Woman Member

AI Nepal, Group 1, Dhankuta


Mr. Dhruv Ray

(who has later appointed Vice-chairperson in the National Board)


AI Nepal, Group 7, Mahottary


Mr. Lekhnath (Laxmi) Niraula

(who has later appointed General Secretary in the National Board)


AI Nepal, Group 83, Damak, Jhapa


Mr. Suresh Upadhyaya Aryal


AI Nepal Group 16, Birgunj, Parsa


Mr. Karna Bahadur Kunwar


AI Nepal Group 89, Tikapur, Kailali


Ms. Pasang Sherpa

Youth Member

Joseph Youth Network, Kathmandu


Mr. Bipini Budhathoki

Youth Member

Dynamic Youth Network, Kathmandu

(B) Appeal Committee




Represented From


Mr. Keshab Pokharel


AI Nepal, Group – 22, Dhulabari, Jhapa


Ms. Prabha Adhikari Koirala


AI Nepal, Group-41, Biratnagar, Morang


Mr. Basanta Prasad Subedi


AI Nepal, Group -82, Pokhara, Kaski

Closing Ceremony

A brief closing ceremony was held on 11 September. In the ceremony, Outgoing Chairperson Surya Bahadur Adhikari, newly Elected Chairperson Rajan Kuikel, former Chairpersons Charan Prasai, Pradip Pokharel, Dhruba Kumar Karki, Marshal Julum Shakya and Chitra Niraula and various speakers express their happiness for the completion of AGM successfully. Outgoing Chairperson Surya Bahadur Adhikari handed enlightened candle to newly elected chairperson Rajan Kuikel as a symbol of handing over the charge. Returning Officer Dhruba Kumar Karki handed over the certificates to the elected National Board Members and Appeal Committee Members.



Youth Network

Youth Network


Blog Amnesty's global human rights blog


Abhiyan Samachar

Social Network

Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Subscribe Newsletter

Subscription form:

Campaign Materials Respect my rights Free Human Rights Course

Contact Us

Amnesty International Nepal
P.O. Box 135, Amnesty Marga
Basanta Nagar, Balaju
Kathmandu, Nepal
Telephone: (977-1) 4364706 / (977-1) 4365431
Fax at: (977-1) 4354987

Location Map

Location Map